Typing Test for State Jobs: How the Rules Vary by State
By Mark Fulton ·

There is no national typing test for state jobs. Each state decides whether to test you at all, who gives the test, how long it runs and what speed counts, and the answer to "will my online certificate work?" is usually no unless the state's own system runs the test. California wants a proctored five-minute test at 40 WPM or better. Missouri has you take its own test online and uses your best of up to five official tries. Washington leaves certification to approved local sites. New York leaves most clerical exams to local civil service agencies. Below is the comparison, with every cell traced to the state's own page, plus a short routine for any state not on the list.
Read the table first, then the notes under it. The notes explain the parts a table cannot hold, like why "not stated" is an honest answer and not a gap.
Do all states require a typing test for clerical jobs?
No. Typing tests attach to specific job classes, not to state employment in general, and states handle the requirement in three different ways:
- The state certifies a document you bring. You get a typing certificate from an approved kind of provider, then submit it. California and Washington work this way.
- The state tests you itself. You take the state's own test, and the result goes straight into your application. Missouri's Merit System works this way.
- The test belongs to a local agency. The state sets few rules and the county, city or school district decides. New York is the clearest example, and the gap between its State and local systems trips up a lot of applicants.
The same job title can carry a different requirement from one of these models to the next, which is why a forum answer for one state is wrong for another. A requirement also lives at the job class level. California's page, for example, says the specific speed for each position is in its class specification.
How do California, Washington, Missouri and New York compare?
Every cell below comes from a page fetched for this article. "Not stated" means the page does not say, and you should ask the contact listed on the page or the posting. I did not fill those cells from memory.
| California | Washington | Missouri | New York | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who gives the test | Any state agency or department, including the one hiring you, or another proctored provider | Local providers: WorkSource offices, colleges, staffing firms and others | The Missouri Division of Personnel, through its own online test | A local civil service agency for local jobs; State exams are separate |
| Format | 5 minutes, proctored in person or virtually | Typing test, with 10-key testing at many sites (sometimes an extra fee) | On-screen copy test, errors counted word by word | Set by the announcement for your exam |
| Minimum speed | 40 WPM for the typing classes CalHR names; the class specification controls | Not stated on the page | Not stated on the page | No statewide number; varies by agency and title |
| How long it stays valid | Departments honor certificates issued in the last 4 years | Not stated on the page | Not stated on the page | Set by the agency |
| Do unproctored online certificates count? | No. Unproctored tests and tests under 5 minutes are not accepted | Not mentioned on the page | You take Missouri's own test; an outside certificate is not part of the described process | Not for tests the agency administers |
| Cost | Varies by provider (see the California post) | Free to $30, depending on the site | Not stated on the page | Exam fees appear on each announcement |
Sources: CalHR typing certification requirements, Washington typing test locations, Missouri Merit System typing test and the New York Department of Civil Service's local government examinations page.
What the table does not say
California is the strictest and the most explicit. CalHR's page sets the five-minute length, the proctoring, the 40 WPM minimum and the four-year window in a few lines, and says it will not accept certifications from tests that were unproctored or shorter than five minutes. Our California typing certificate guide walks through where to test and what individual departments add on top.
Washington publishes places, not a speed. The state careers page lists where certification can be obtained and notes that some state agency positions require it. Fees at the listed sites range from nothing at several locations to $10, $15 and $30 elsewhere, some sites are walk-in and others need an appointment, and one college tests only on Fridays during the school year. A posting or the contact on the page (CareersHelp@des.wa.gov) is where the required speed lives. Do not assume California's 40 applies.
Missouri is the odd one out, and the easiest to prepare for. You take the state's online test using the name, phone number and address on your Merit System application. The page says your best score is the one used, the practice test can be taken as many times as you like, and the official test up to five times. It names no minimum score, and it does not mention proctoring. If you lack internet access, it lists a public library, a Missouri Career Center, someone's home or the Division of Personnel office as places to take it.
New York is really two systems. The Department of Civil Service says plainly that State examinations are separate from local government examinations, and that minimum qualifications and exam subjects for similar titles may vary from one agency to another. We covered how to read one in New York State typing test: keyboarding exams explained.
Which states accept certificates from outside providers?
Read the question as "which employers accept a document I get from a provider outside their own system." Among the pages above:
- California: yes, if the provider's test was five minutes and proctored. The page also says a department may test you itself.
- Washington: the listed providers are workforce offices, colleges and staffing agencies. The page lists them but does not say whether the state accepts other providers, so confirm with the hiring agency.
- Missouri: the described process is the state's own test, so there is nothing to bring.
- New York: where an agency runs a typing performance test, the agency administers and scores it.
The pattern worth remembering is that states care less about the brand on the certificate than about who watched you take the test. A self-serve online test has nobody watching, and that is the boundary.
Local governments inside a state set their own rules and often stricter ones. The City of South Gate's typing certification page requires a test of at least five minutes, dated within six months of the application due date, certified by a government agency, temporary employment agency, business college, adult school or public school, and it states that internet typing tests will not be accepted except for special needs of the City. A state rule tells you nothing about the city next door.
Where do you take a state typing test?
It depends on which of the three models your state uses.
- Workforce and job centers. Many certificates come from public job centers. California's page allows any state agency to test you, and Washington's list is full of WorkSource and workforce offices. Call ahead, since hours, appointments and ID requirements differ site to site.
- Colleges and adult schools. A community college testing lab or adult school is a common low-cost route. Washington's list includes several colleges, with limited days at some.
- The hiring agency or state system. In Missouri you test through the state's portal. In California, the department you are applying to may test you directly. Ask the contact on the posting before paying anyone.
- Staffing firms. Some sites in Washington's list are staffing firms. Check that the receiving agency accepts staffing-firm certificates, because some California departments do not.
Bring photo ID, arrive early, and ask what the provider prints on the certificate. The fields that matter are your name, the date, the test length and your net speed.
What should you check before applying in a state not listed here?
Use this routine. It takes about fifteen minutes and covers any state.
Step 1: Find the exact class and read its minimum qualifications. The typing speed, if there is one, is written in the class specification or the posting, not in a general page.
Step 2: Ask who administers the test. Is it the state's own system, an approved provider, or the hiring agency? That tells you which of the three models applies.
Step 3: Check length and supervision. Five minutes with a proctor is the common requirement in the pages above. Anything shorter or unsupervised is the usual reason for rejection.
Step 4: Check the clock. California honors four years. South Gate wants the test within six months of the deadline. Ask how old is too old before you book.
Step 5: Find the exact certificate fields. Name, date, length, net speed and, for some employers, a signature.
Step 6: Call or email the contact on the posting. One question to ask: "Do you accept a certificate from this provider, and if not, where can I test?" The answer is binding in a way no article is.
Step 7: Rehearse the format. Whatever the answer, you will type for about five minutes under a rule you do not control. Practice that.
How do you prepare while you confirm the rules?
Preparation does not wait for the paperwork. The one thing nearly every state test shares is a few minutes of sustained typing where mistakes cost you. On the 5-minute typing test you can run the same shape for free: no account, net WPM and accuracy on a result card. Run it three or four times across a few days and judge yourself by the lowest score, not the best one. If you are close to a posted minimum, work on accuracy first, since net speed subtracts errors. The typing accuracy test shows your error count per run, and our guide to civil service typing tests covers how the format is scored.
Do state jobs accept online typing certificates?
Usually not when the state requires a proctored test, and the honest summary is that it varies by state and by job. Our certificate carries a public verification ID that anyone can look up at typetimer.com/verify, which proves it is genuine and unedited. It does not prove who was at the keyboard, so it does not turn an unproctored test into a proctored one. When a state requires supervision, take the supervised test. Our proctored typing test guide lists the situations where supervision is the rule. For private employers who simply ask for a number, a verified certificate is a fast way to answer, and the typing certificate for employment guide maps who accepts what.
FAQ
Do state jobs accept online typing certificates?
Where a state requires a proctored test, no. California says it will not accept certifications from tests that were unproctored or shorter than five minutes. Missouri has you take its own online test instead of bringing a certificate. Other states and agencies set their own rules, so read the posting and ask the contact listed on it before you pay for a certificate.
What WPM do most state clerical jobs require?
There is no single figure. California's CalHR page sets a 40 WPM minimum for typing classes such as Office Assistant (Typing) and Office Technician (Typing) and says the class specification states the requirement for each job. Washington's and Missouri's pages do not state a speed, and New York varies by agency and title. Treat any number in a posting as the one that counts for that job only.
Is a typing certificate from one state valid in another?
Don't assume so. Each state or agency decides what it accepts, and the details differ: California honors certificates for four years, while a city like South Gate wants the test dated within six months of its application deadline. A certificate that meets one state's length, supervision and issuer rules may still miss another's, so check the receiving agency's requirements before relying on it.
Are state typing tests free?
Sometimes. Washington's testing list shows no cost at several sites and fees of $10, $15 or $30 at others, with extra charges for 10-key testing at some. Missouri's page does not state a fee. California's page does not list fees either, since providers set their own, and a hiring department may test you directly. Ask before you go, because fees and hours change.
Practice the format while you confirm your state's rules
Start with the free 5-minute typing test so you know your cold-start net WPM and accuracy before the paperwork is settled. If your target employer accepts an online result, a verified TypeTimer certificate is $4.99 and carries an ID anyone can check at typetimer.com/verify. If your state requires a proctored test, use the practice to prepare and book the supervised one.